Current Association Awards Recipients

WASHINGTON-The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is pleased to announce the recipients of its annual Association Awards for community college trustees, equity programs, chief executive officers, faculty members, and professional board staff members.  

ACCT's Association Awards recognize the tremendous contributions made by trustees, equity programs, chief executive officers, faculty members, and professional board staff members.  Those honored at the national level received regional-level recognition in their respective categories earlier in the year.  The regional-level awardees were the sole contenders for the national-level ACCT Association Awards.  The ACCT Association Awards were announced during the ACCT Awards Gala on Friday, October 25, at the Hyatt Regency Chicago in Illinois.  Awardees were announced live during the gala on ACCT's Twitter @CCTrustees

"The ACCT Association Awards are among the most prestigious awards any community college, its trustees, presidents, faculty, or staff member can receive," said ACCT Chair and Lansing Community College (Mich.) Trustee Robin Smith.  "Additionally, ACCT annually recognizes an outstanding community college initiative whose purpose is to achieve equity in the college's education programs and service, reflecting the association's commitment to equity and diversity in higher education." 

"This year's awardees have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and leadership, going above and beyond to serve their colleges and students," said ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown.  "ACCT is proud to honor these outstanding public servants for a job well done." 

The 2014 ACCT Awards were sponsored by EdFinancial Services, an ACCT Corporate Council member.


2014 ACCT Association Awards 


2014 M. Dale Ensign Trustee Leadership Award

M. Thomas Perkins

M. Thomas Perkins

Western Nebraska Community College, Neb. 













2014 Charles Kennedy Equity Award

Seattle CollegesSeattle Colleges, Washington








2014 Marie Y. Martin Chief Executive Award 

Kathleen HetheringtonKathleen Hetherington

Howard Community College, Md. 












2014 William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award 

Bill MulkeyBill Mulkey

Midlands Technical College, S.C. 












2014 ACCT Professional Board Staff Member Award 

Jeannie OdleJeannie Odle

Chemeketa Community College, Ore.