2019 ACCT Association Awards Announced

Outstanding Community College Leaders Receive National-Level Recognition

October 22, 2019

2019 ACCT Awards Recognize Outstanding Community College Trustee, Equity Program, CEO, Faculty and Professional Board Staff

WASHINGTON--The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) on Friday, October 18 presented its 2019 ACCT Association Awards, recognizing outstanding community college trustees, equity programs, chief executive officers, faculty members, and professional board staff members from throughout the nation. The 2019 ACCT Awards program is sponsored by Edamerica

ACCT's Awards recognize the tremendous contributions made by community colleges and their leaders to meet the needs of their communities.  

"Community colleges are uniquely committed to open-access, high-quality higher education for all Americans, as well as a vital pipeline to the jobs that support communities and keep our country going strong," said ACCT Chair and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Trustee Dawn Erlandson. "This year's regional awardees represent the most outstanding people and programs across this great nation."

"Identifying and recognizing outstanding community college leaders is a highlight of our year," said ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown. "The 2019 awardees are among the most dedicated we've seen, reflecting our colleges' tireless commitment to helping students succeed. Congratulations to all of this year's awards recipients."

M. Dale Ensign, namesake of ACCT's trustee leadership award, co-presented the award and was received with a standing ovation. Ensign was a trustee for many years at Northwest Community College in Powell, Wyoming. He served as ACCT President in 1972.

The full list of awardees follows. Pictured below, awards were presented by 2018-19 ACCT Chair Connie Hornbeck and ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown.

2019 ACCT Association Awardees

M. Dale Ensign Trustee Leadership Award 
Gladys Christensen
Central Arizona College







Charles Kennedy Equity Award
Harrisburg Area Community College, Pennsylvania







Marie Y. Martin Chief Executive Officer Award
William Serrata
El Paso Community College District, Texas






William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award
Amelia Phillips
Highline College, Washington






Professional Board Staff Member Award
Karen Campbell
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College






Each of the ACCT Association Awards nominees was one of five Regional ACCT Awards recipients. Regional awards were announced, one region per day, this summer via ACCT's Twitter account, and Association Awards recipients were announced live on Friday night via Twitter. Be among the first to know: Follow us @CCTrustees

Awards were presented during the 50th Annual ACCT Leadership Congress in San Francisco, California.

For more information about ACCT Awards, contact awards@acct.org.