Announcement of Newly Elected, Re-elected and Appointed Board Members and Officers

New ACCT Leadership Elected and Appointed Prior to 2020 ACCT Leadership Congress

October 2, 2020

WASHINGTON, D.C. –The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is pleased to announce the elections and appointments of new ACCT Board of Directors and ACCT Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee members and officers. All members were sworn into office on October 2 prior to the 2020 ACCT Leadership Congress.

Newly elected ACCT Board of Directors Executive Committee members include Chair David Mathis, a trustee from Mohawk Valley Community College in New York; Chair-Elect James Cooksey, a trustee at Moberly Area Community College in Missouri; Vice Chair Rose Benavidez, a trustee at South Texas College; Secretary-Treasurer Jay Nardini, a trustee from Hawkeye Community College in Iowa; and Immediate Past Chair Dawn Erlandson, a trustee from Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

In addition to electing Executive Committee members, the ACCT Board of Directors elected five Regional Chairs to serve through the coming year. Regional Chairs are charged with serving as conduits to information among the states within their respective regions. They are:

Central Regional Chair
William Kelley
Harper College, Ill.

Northeast Regional Chair
Marsha Suggs Smith
Montgomery College, Md.

Pacific Regional Chair
Gilbert Wong
Foothill-De Anza Community College District, Calif.

Southern Regional Chair
Tamela Cullens
South Florida State College, FL

Western Regional Chair
Dan Mims
San Jacinto College, TX

Through regional caucuses held on September 30 and October 1 and the membership-wide ACCT senate meeting convened on October 1, the membership also elected nine individuals to serve or to continue serving on the ACCT Board of Directors. Newly elected, re-elected and appointed board members include:

Central Regional Director
James Cooksey
Moberly Area Community College, Mo.

Northeast Regional Director
Sheetal Ranjan
Bergen Community College, N.J.

Pacific  Regional Director 
John Leal
State Center Community College District, Calif.

Southern Regional Director
Tim Hardy
Louisiana Community and Technical College System, La.

Western Regional Director
Rose Benavidez
South Texas College, Texas

At-Large Director
Amanda Howland
College of Lake County, Ill.

At-Large Director
John Lukas
Lakeshore Technical College, Wisc.

At-Large Director
Gilbert Wong
Foothill De-Anza Community College District, Calif.

Appointed Director - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Chair
Yvonne Barnes
Trident Technical College, S.C.

In addition to board elections, the Board of Directors newly elected and re-elected Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee members include:

Tony Colon
Mohawk Valley Community College, N.Y.

Central Region
Zaida Hernandez-Irrison
Gateway Technical College, Wisc.

Northeast Region
Pamela Gardner
Hudson County Community College, N.J.

Pacific Region
Richard Fukutaki
Bellevue College, Wash.

Southern Region
Dipa Shah
Hillsborough Community College, Fla.

Western Region
Carolyn Thomas Morris
Navajo Technical College, N.M.

For more information about ACCT Board and Committee members, visit