2016 ACCT Association Awardees Announced

WASHINGTON-The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is pleased to announce the recipients of its annual Association Awards for community college trustees, equity programs, chief executive officers, faculty members, and professional board staff members.  
Those honored at the national level received regional-level recognition in their respective categories earlier in the year.  The regional-level awardees were the sole contenders for the national-level ACCT Association Awards.  The ACCT Association Awards were presented during the ACCT Awards Gala on Friday, October 7, at the Hilton Riverside New Orleans.  Awardees were announced live during the gala on ACCT's Twitter @CCTrustees
"The ACCT Association Awards are among the most prestigious awards any community college, its trustees, presidents, faculty, or staff member can receive," said 2016-17 ACCT Chair and Hudson County Community College (N.J.) Vice Chairman Bakari G. Lee, Esq. "In addition to these individual recognitions, ACCT annually recognizes an outstanding community college initiative whose purpose is to achieve equity in the college's education programs and service, reflecting the association's commitment to equity and diversity in higher education." 
"This year's awardees have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and leadership, going above and beyond to serve their colleges and students," said ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown.  "ACCT is proud to honor these outstanding public servants for a job well done." 
The 2016 ACCT Awards were sponsored by MOHELA and EdFinancial ServicesACCT Corporate Council members. 

  2016 M. Dale Ensign Trustee Leadership Award

 Diane Gallagher

Highland Community College, Illinois

Diane Gallagher

  2016 Charles Kennedy Equity Award

College of Lake County, Illinois


College of Lake County

2016 Marie Y. Martin Chief Executive Award

Jane Karas

Flathead Valley Community College, Montana


2016 William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award

Liz Ann Baez Aguilar

Alamo Colleges, Texas



2016 ACCT Professional Board Staff Member Award

 Debbie Novak

Colorado Mountain College, Colorado


About the Association of Community College Trustees
 The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is a non-profit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees who govern over 1,200 community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States and beyond. For more information, go to www.acct.org. Follow ACCT on Twitter at twitter.com/CCTrustees.