2017-18 ACCT Board of Directors Election Results

Washington, D.C. - New officers and members of the ACCT Board of Directors were elected during the 2017 ACCT Leadership Congress in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Tuesday, September 26 and Wednesday, September 27.

As the event drew to a close on Thursday, incoming ACCT Chair Emily Yim said the association will focus throughout the coming year on partnerships that advance equity, completion, and workforce issues, as well as continue to foster partnerships with K-12 systems, industry, state and local governments, and community organizations.

“We cannot meet...complex needs by ourselves, which is why there is such promise and power in partnerships,” said Yim, a trustee at Edmonds Community College in Washington. “We are stronger together.”


2017 ACCT Election Results 

Following is a list of new ACCT Board of Directors Officers and Board Members elected or appointed during the 2017 ACCT Leadership Congress.

Executive Committee

Emily Yim
Edmonds Community College, Wash.
Connie Hornbeck
Iowa Western Community College, Iowa
Vice Chair
Dawn Erlandson
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, Minn. 
David Mathis
Mohawk Valley Community College, New York
Immediate Past Chair
Bakari G. Lee
Hudson County Community College, N.J.

Regional Chairs

Central Regional Chair
Gregory Knott
Parkland College, Ill.
Northeast Regional Chair
Debra Borden
Frederick Community College, Md.
Pacific Regional Chair
Stephan Castellanos
San Joaquin Delta College, Calif.
Southern Regional Chair
Tamela Cullens
South Florida State College, Fla.
Western Regional Chair
Kent Miller
Mid-Plains Community College, Neb.

Regional Directors

Central Region
James Cooksey
Moberly Area Community College, Mo.
Northeast Region
Hector Ortiz
Harrisburg Area Community College, Pa.
Pacific Region
John Leal
State Center Community College, Calif.
Southern Region
Dennis Troy
Bladen Community College, N.C.
Western Region
Rose Benavidez
South Texas College, Texas 


John Lukas
Lakeshore Technical College, Wisc.
Larry Meyer
Lansing Community College, Mich.
Gilbert Wong
Foothill-De Anza Community College District, Calif. 

Appointed Board Members

Diversity Committee Chair
Benjamin Wu
Montgomery College, Md. 
For more information about the ACCT Board of Directors, contact Karen Lomax at klomax@acct.org.


Founded in 1972, the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is the nonprofit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees of community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States and beyond.  ACCT's purpose is to strengthen the capacity of community, technical, and junior colleges and to foster the realization of their missions through effective board leadership at local, state, and national levels.  For more information, visit www.acct.org.  Follow ACCT on Twitter at twitter.com/CCTrustees.