Government Relations Award

This award is presented to an individual who has made exceptional contributions at the federal level in promoting national public policies and goals of community colleges.

2022       Bryce McKibben, Former Senior Policy Adviser to Sen. Patty Murray; Senior Director, Policy and Advocacy, The Hope Center; Former ACCT Public Policy Staff

2017       Joel Packer, Former Executive Director, Committee for Education Funding

2015       Rachel Gragg, National Skills Coalition

2014       Debbie Cochrane, TICAS

2007       Stephanie Giesecke, Natl. Assn. of Independent Colleges and Universities

2006       Brian K. Fitzgerald, Business-Higher Education Forum

2001       Jamie Merisotis, Institute for Higher Education Policy

1997       Linda Michalowski, California Community College System

1996       Gary W. Davis, ICCTA

1995       Hal M. Miller, North Carolina Community College System

1994       Becky H. Timmons, American Council on Education

1993       Edward M. Elmendorf, AASCU

1992       Ira Magaziner, Commission on the Skills of the American Workforce

1991       Charles B. Saunders, American Council on Education

1990       Sharon H. Cranford, National Coalition for Employee Educational Assistance

1989       James L. Martin, National Governors Association

1988       Susan Frost, Committee for Education Funding

1987       Dallas Martin, NASFA

1986       William G. Shannon, The National Advisory Council on Continuing Education

1985       Joseph S. Murphy, CUNY

1984       Clark Maxwell, Jr., Florida

1983       Andrew S. Korim, Community College of Allegheny County, PA